Be part of global changes

Electric Counterpoint

Electric Counterpoint is a minimalist composition written by American composer Steve Reich. The piece consists of three movements, “Fast,” “Slow”, and “Fast”.

The composer has offered two versions of the piece: one for electric guitar and tape (the tape part featuring two electric bass guitars and 7 electric guitars), and the other for an ensemble of guitars.

Writing in The Guardian, music critic Andrew Clements suggested that Reich is one of “a handful of living composers who can legitimately claim to have altered the direction of musical history”. The American composer and critic Kyle Gann has said that Reich “may … be considered, by general acclamation, America’s greatest living composer”.

Electric Counterpoint by Steve Reich is the background music of the Electric Marathon.


See more news

Marathon through pictures

See more galleries